Steering Committee


Howard Schneider

M.S., Dean of the School of Journalism

Carl Safina

Ph.D., President of The Safina Center and inaugural holder of the Carl Safina Endowed Chair for Nature and Humanity in the School of Marine and Atmospheric Sciences (SoMAS), Visiting Professor in the School of Journalism


R. David Bynum

Ph.D., Professor of Biochemistry and Cell Biology, founder of the Center for Science and Mathematics Education (CESAME)

Robert Crease

Ph.D., Professor of Philosophy

Mary D. (Molly) Frame

Ph.D., Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering, and Vice-Chair, Director of the Undergraduate Program

Nancy S. Goroff

Ph.D., Associate Professor of Chemistry and Interim Dean of the Graduate School

Jessica Gurevitch

Ph.D., Professor and Chair of Ecology and Evolution

Eugene Hammond

Ph.D. Associate Professor and Chair of Department of English and Director of Progran in Writing and Rhetoric

Kristina Lucenko

Ph.D. Director of Program in Writing and Rhetoric

Anne McElroy

Ph.D., Professor and Director of Graduate Programs, School of Marine and Atmospheric Sciences (SoMAS)

Harold Metcalf

Ph.D., Distinguished Teaching Professor of Physics

Nicole S. Sampson

Ph.D., Professor and Chair of Chemistry

Paul Sorensen

Ph.D., Physicist, Brookhaven National Laboratory

Andrew Wackett

MD, Assistant Dean of Medical Education, Stony Brook Medicine

Jan A. Witkowski

Ph.D., Executive Director of the Banbury Center, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory