The Alan Alda Center Affiliates Network

From left, Christine O’Connell and Michael Spikes (Alda Center), Carol Terregino (Robert Wood Johnson Medical School), Dominick Fantacone and Angela Pagone (SUNY Cortland), Alan Alda, Kristina Horn Sheeler (IUPUI), Lorna Wong (University of Chicago), Laura Lindenfeld and Carmedy West (University of Maine), Doug Dollemore (American Chemical Society), Valeri Lantz-Gefroh (Alda Center), Suzanne Sarfaty (Boston University Medical School), Liz Bass and Evonne Kaplan-Liss (Alda Center).

The Alan Alda Center is building a collaborative network of affiliated science communication programs to share materials, curriculum, best practices and lessons learned. For affiliates, the Center also hosts an annual meeting, creates new instructional materials, can consult on strategy, provides train-the-trainer activities and maintains the Alda-Kavli Learning Center. Here are the members of the Alda Center’s affiliate network, with contact people for each affiliate.


American Chemical Society – Washington D.C.

Doug Dollemore
D_Dollemore@acs.org
Senior science writer at the American Chemical Society

Nancy Blount
n_blount@acs.org
Assistant Director, Office of Public Affairs


Australian National University – Canberra, Australia

Dr. Will J Grant
will.grant@anu.edu.au
Graduate Studies Convener | Australian National Centre for the Public Awareness of Science, the Australian National University


Boston University School of Medicine – Boston, MA

Suzanne C. (Suzy) Sarfaty, M.D.
ssarfaty@bu.edu
Assistant Dean of Academic Affairs and Director of the Office of Enrichment for the BU School of Medicine


Clemson University, Clemson, SC

Tamara McNealy
Associate professor in the Department of Biological Sciences, microbiology
tmcneal@clemson.edu


Dartmouth College – Hanover, NH

Nancy Serrell
Nserrell816@gmail.com
Director of science and technology outreach in the Office of the Provost


Indiana University School of Medicine/Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI) – Indianapolis, IN

Krista Hoffmann-Longtin, Ph.D.
klongtin@iu.edu
Assistant Professor of Communication Studies
Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis

Assistant Dean of Faculty Affairs and Professional Development
Indiana University School of Medicine
317-278-2840

Kristina Horn Sheeler, Ph.D.
ksheeler@iupui.edu
Associate Professor and Chair
Department of Communication Studies, IUPUI


Robert Wood Johnson School of Medicine, Rutgers University – New Brunswick, NJ

Carol A. Terregino, M.D.
terregca@rwjms.rutgers.edu
Senior Associate Dean for Education


State University of New York at Cortland – Cortland, NY 

Angela Pagano, Ph.D.
angela.pagano@cortland.edu
Associate Professor of Biological Sciences and Co-Coordinator of Adolescence Science Education

Dominick Fantacone
Dominick.fantacone@cortland.edu
Lecturer in Biological Sciences


University of California San Diego – San Diego, California

Kim Rubinstein
krubinstein@ucsd.edu
Artistic Director

Steven Cassedy
scassedy@ucsd.edu
Managing Director


University of Chicago Medical Center – Chicago, IL

Lorna Wong
lorna.wong@uchospitals.edu
Director, Media Relations, University of Chicago Medicine


University of Michigan Medical School – Ann Arbor, MI

David Fessell, M.D.
fessell@umich.edu
Professor of Radiology
University of Michigan Medical School


University of Oregon – Eugene, OR

Elly Vandegrift
ellyvan@uoregon.edu
Associate Director, Science Literacy Program
University of Oregon, Eugene, OR


University of Rochester – Rochester, NY

Tracey Baas Tracey
tracey_baas@urmc.rochester.edu
Director of URBEST program


University of Texas at Austin – Moody College of Communication/Dell Medical School – Austin, TX

Jay Bernhardt, Ph.D., M.P.H.
jay.bernhardt@austin.utexas.edu
Interim Dean, Moody College of Communication
Founding Director, Center for Health Communications at UT-Austin
Everett D. Collier Centennial Chair in Communication

Erin Donovan, Ph.D.
edk@austin.utexas.edu
Assistant Professor
Moody College of Communication

Robert Milman, M.D.
rmilman24@gmail.com
Senior Clinical Advisor, Center for Health Communication
Moody College of Communication

Sue Cox, M.D.
suecox@austin.utexas.edu
Executive Vice Dean of Academics and Chair of Medical Education, Dell Medical School


University of Texas System for its Transformation in Medical Education (TIME) Initiative – Galveston, TX

Steven A. Lieberman, M.D.
slieberman@utmb.edu
Co-Chair, UT System TIME Initiative
John P. McGovern Distinguished Chair in Oslerian Medicine, Senior Dean for Administration
Professor, Internal Medicine, UTMB School of Medicine


University of Vermont – Burlington, VT

Daniel J. Harvey
Dan.Harvey@uvm.edu
Assistant Dean of the Graduate College and Chief of Staff for VP for Research, Richard Galbraith

Lillian M. Gamache
lgamache@uvm.edu
Coordinator for UVM’s EPSCoR (Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research)